Edale

EDALE!! The post you’ve all been waiting for!

Once we got to Edale, we had to make our own BEDS. I was in a dorm with 7 other kids and the name was the GAINTS instead of the GIANTS. Our first activity was climbing, and at first we were climbing without harnesses up big rocks. Then we were actually rock climbing and I was scared but our instructor (Robin) held on to us. Once we got back in the mini bus, we had tea. I only had cheese, 2 rolls and sweetcorn. We went hiking up mam tor, one of the highest hills in England. At the top, I was crying because I felt homesick, but my friend comforted me. There was nothing lighting our way but our head torches. When we went to bed, I couldn’t bother to *cough cough* shower. When I went to bed with my BFF on the top bunk, I didn’t get much sleep. In the middle of the night, this girl in our dorm woke up and started crying because she was homesick. YOU AND ME BOTH SIS. The next morning, we went weaselling. I hated that because I kept getting stuck in rocks. XD  Then we sat in puddles and I got SO wet that when I got back to my dorm, I had to take all my pants (including my underwear) off and change them. After lunch, we went abseiling and OHMYGOSH I was so scared! The first time, I went with my friend and since I had NO IDEA how to control the rope, she did it, but she accidentally let go and we were dangling. The second time, it was a fun ride, and I was SCREAMING into my other friend’s eardrum. LITERALLY. Then, after dinner, we did some problem solving which is just code for “playing games in the dark”. That is literally what we did and OHMYGOSH I loved it!! I lost a battery though 😦 . Wednesday morning, we did archery and that was BY FAR my favourite activity EVA! We played a game called ‘knife,fork,spoon’ and if you hit outside the target, you had to eat with your face, if you hit the target but you didn’t hit any rings, you had to eat with your hands, if you hit the first 2 rings, you got a knife, the next 2 you got a spoon and the bullseye, you got a fork. My teacher was the only one who got a fork. I got a hand, a knife and a spoon, but most kids had 3 faces (to eat with, DUH). Then, we went orienteering, and I really didn’t like that. We had a HUGE orienteering course, and we had to walk across bogs, and my shoe got stuck! But he rest of my team was already ahead of me, so I just stuck my shoe on. Then, after lunch, we went on the bus back. I was careful to sit in the back because travelsick kids are supposed to sit upfront and I’m HORRIBLY SQEAMISH. There was a travelsick kid behind me, but he actually wasn’t sick. But the bit was, every five minutes you heard somebody throw up, and every five minutes, I would get a little stiffer. But I didn’t see anything at the front when I got off. When I got to the school playground, my dad came up to me and just HUGGED me.

I really enjoyed Edale, but I don’t think I’m going to go back anytime soon! 🙂

8.5/10

Chaio
~bloggerofthebloggish 🙂 😛

4 thoughts on “Edale

  1. Everybody’s glad you had a good time. Mom & Dad enjoyed the trip as well, even though we didn’t go! Figure that one out!

    Like

  2. Hello Gaint,

    Thanks for filling us in on Edale. It’s good to hear you’re not travelsick. Your Uncle Ralph was definitely one of the kids at the front of the bus in his own day 😉 (ask your mum about the bus to Tesco when we were in Hull, too). And the homesickness seems to have quietly disappeared as the trip developed. Aren’t you a picture of health!

    Next time I come over I’ll tell you about our trip to Normandy – the Mouse and I just got back home. Meanwhile, look out for the postcard!

    Like

Comment and see piggy!

